ACL Recap Part 1

As the dust settles at Zilker Park and we all emerge from our post ACL slumber, its time for the ceremonial recap. Lawrence Boone, our resident music guru, will be covering the musical details, so pardon my focus on the state of the VIP lounge, after-partying, and otherwise frivolous matter…

Friday started out rough to say the least (Art Disaster was a bit too much of a blast) so after catching about three songs of Del tha Funky Homosapien I headed to check out the VIP digs.

After downing some delightful ceviche provided by El Chile (ACL really went all the way with food and beverage sponsors this year) I tried my damndest to catch M. Ward. What a disappointment that was, probably should have planned better to get inside the tent at the WaMu stage, better luck next time. Gogol Bordello rocked as he always does and the crowd could not have been more excited. People of all ages really got their gypsy on, a site I had not witnessed at their many other shows I have attended.

After a brief stint at N.E.R.D., cut short after boredom set in from watching the throngs of women dance on stage for two songs too long, it was time for more posting with our friends over at Sweet Leaf Tea. There really is nothing like having behind the scenes access, even if at times its just behind the vendors, to take the edge off the heat and the crowds. This time it turned out to be more of a failure, one drink was consumed and I was off for more posting at the VIP grove. Dinner courtesy of Central Market sent me right to bed for the night, sans any after party action.

Saturday was a whole new ball game. I hitched a ride with some friends which allowed me the opportunity to take a walk down Barton Springs. I am always thoroughly impressed and annoyed at the entrepreneurs that take full advantage of the festivities. I was even totally brainwashed by the Heineken booth. One mini shot of beer and I was all set to spend my beer dollars solely on Heineken Light, although my fortunate of having a VIP pass meant this was only about $8 total. Once in the festival I immediately set up shop at Man Man, followed by Erykah Badu. Something about the Dell Stage really didn’t impress me this year, but I’m not looking to complain today.

I tried to head over to MGMT, but quickly realized that this was one band that belonged on the main stage and there was no way I was going to infiltrate the throngs of hungry MGMT fans going ape-shit for the band. On the fight out of the crowd I even managed to get trampled on and am currently waiting to lose my big toenail on my left foot, sigh. I was fortunate enough to round out my night watching John Fogerty from backstage. I had every intention of catching The Black Keys but we ran into many friends and conversation got the best of us. Several inappropriate jokes later and we were all back at VIP, listening to Beck from afar.

I had every intention of attending the Envy afterparty at Speakeasy but ended up at Blender’s Rock the Vote party until the wee hours of the morning. The party was managed fantastically with a never ending supply of Divine Vodka powered drinks, super good food provided by I Have No Clue, and a great stage upstairs where Nicole Atkins and the Sea and The Black & White Years entertained the crowds. A veritable who’s who of industry folks came out for the night, although I’m not one to name drop so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Sunday saw most of my crew recuperating from Saturday, while I proved to be the trooper getting to the festival in time to see Against Me!, Silversun Pickups, Heartless Bastards, Okkervil River, The Raconteurs, Band of Horses, and Foo Fighters. There was little time for booze or food as I trudged from stage to stage. The good news is that I found all performances to be spectacular, minus Silversun Pickups. I have seen them more times than I can count and am convinced there is something up with that guys voice that makes it next to impossible to get it right live. I know nothing about live sound so will cease to analyze beyond that in an effort to not look like an ass.

All in all, the weekend was a success and the Do512 crew had quite the time. Stay tuned for more ACL updates courtesy of Mr. Boone. All photos courtesy of Lawrence Collins, our fabulous photographer for the weekend. Check him out on Flickr for more ACL coverage and many other photos you never wanted to see.

September 29, 2008. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Wonder Woman replied:

    Cool recap:)

  2. do512 replied:

    Why thank you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

