Why I Heart the Black Sheep Lodge

I love the Black Sheep Lodge.   I spend way too much time and money there. It’s also conveniently next door to the Do512 HQ, and within 2 blocks of my house.  So it has quickly become my neighborhood bar…and my new home away from home.  If I owned it, I wouldn’t change a thing.

“Oh Black Sheep….Why do I love thee?  Let me count the ways…”

Simplicity…no themes, no attitude, no pretense. Far from the faux-hawked downtown club crowd.  Full liquor bar.  Great drink specials.  Nice draft beer selection (including Brooklyn Lager…mmm).  Tasty bar food (my favorites are the addictive corn dog bites w/ curry ketchup…as well as the  fat and delicious burgers) .   Good bar games to keep you entertained (pool, darts, shuffleboard).  Lots of TV’s with all the games.  A nice big outdoor patio (which btw is now tented with space heaters) and always a good crowd.  All of those factors combined make up exactly what I look for in a neighborhood bar…and damned if I’m not thrilled to have them in the ‘hood.

I was talking to owner Keith Sandel last week about the bar, my words slightly slurred while sipping on my third Firefly & Water.    In planning the upcoming Do512 Happy Hour (tonight at 6pm!), we decided to keep it simple, no bells and whistles, just drinks with friends.   At Do512 we organize and help promote all kinds of events with themes: music, art, trivia,  poker, festivals, you name it.  At Black Sheep however, it made more sense to keep it simple, in keeping with the vibe of the place.  Keith couldn’t agree more.

So if you haven’t checked out the Black Sheep Lodge yet, come share a holiday pitcher and some corn dog bites with us tonight.  And please don’t spread the word too much, we kind of like being able to still get a seat at the bar😉

Do512 Holiday Happy Hour $1 Off All Draft Pints, $3 Tito’s Drinks & $2 Frozen Margaritas!

Jimmy@Do512.com

December 3, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Callie replied:

    You nailed it, Jimmy. The BSL is perfect exactly as it is. Simple goodness. I’d like to give an additional shout out to Keith for the music he plays when he’s there. That’s among the criteria I have for picking my homes away from home. And, as I was walking up to the door on Tuesday night, the song I’d had on repeat in my truck earlier that day was playing. I *knew* Keith was working, and I instantly felt like I was exactly where I ought to be. Much, much love to all those folks.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

